The French Connection

So last night I baked these lovely baguettes and made two new batches of dough.  This time the dough rose almost to the brim of the container.  It was such a great feeling, like watching a child growing up before your eyes.  My babies, my sweet, floury, doughy babies!  I figured out what my problem was.  My luke warm water hadn’t been luke warm enough.  So this time I made the water for the yeast/salt combo even warmer and voila! Rising dough.  This picture doesn’t even show the final product, as they rose even more before I stuck them in the fridge.  If you are wondering how much dough that is, each container holds about 5.5 quarts.  Oh yeah,  I got lots of dough. 

 

 So, with the leftover dough that I had from the weekend’s semi-triumph I created 1 and a half baguettes.  This dough was a bit more elastic than I anticipated and even though I rolled and stretched and rolled some more the poor things wouldn’t thin out.  I also didn’t have those lovely baguette loaf pan things I’ve seen others use, so they also didn’t hold their shape. 

But regardless the little beauties turned out gorgeous.  Very French, in a “we don’t care what you think, we are brown and gorgeous!” kind of way.  The crumb also turned out amazing.  My first attempt was a bit dense, but the baguettes had a lot more air to it, a lot more fluff and softness. 

Once the loaves cooled down I wrapped one up to take to work and we took the smaller one and devoured it with pasta sauce.  My wife calls it “gravy” for some unknown reason.  I think it’s an Italian thing.  Being French-Canadian and Irish I just don’t get it.  I also had a slice warmed and covered in a light slathering of butter and jelly.  Mmmmmm.   Today I cut up the other loaf and have left it out for my coworkers with some lovely baba ghanoush.   Despite the fact that I made it last night and it sat overnight simply wrapped up in clean kitchen towels it is still lovely and moist this morning.  Here’s hoping that my coworkers love it as much as I do.  The day before a holiday and it is empty in here, save for a few of us die-hards and people with very little vacation time available.   I would hate to see the thing go stale….though what a lovely french toast casserole it would make.  Mmmmm.

Leave a Reply

